WAR – ZONE

The bullet now doesn’t haunt me,

For now I don’t have to bury them in my chest.

 

The fire now doesn’t burn me,

For now I don’t have to be surrounded by it.

 

The chain now doesn’t bruise me,

For now I don’t have to be captured in them.

 

The darkness now doesn’t eat me,

For now I don’t have to fake my sleep through it.

 

The high spiked wall now doesn’t pin me,

For now I don’t have to climb them anymore.

 

The wind now doesn’t cut through me,

For now I don’t have to slice through it anymore.

 

The war now doesn’t destruct me,

For now I’ve surrendered myself to the nation’s pride.

 


[ being surrounded by friends from army background for a good few years of my life, this was a short piece i wrote for a school magazine ]

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

